The Bourne Stone: Difference between revisions
No edit summary |
No edit summary |
||
Line 1: | Line 1: | ||
The Bourne Stone is a 300 pound, four feet by one and a half feet slab of pink granite that is shrouded in mystery. Currently, it is displayed in the Bourne Historical Center, located at 30 Keene St. In Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts. It has been displayed there since 2003. Its origins are debated, but most agree that it was originally used as a doorstep for a Native American meetinghouse. (Pre Columbian trans-oceanic contact Fritzinger pg 52). The slab itself has two sides, each being unique. One side contains an inscription of some sort of language and is smooth, and the other side is rough and natural. (figure 1) It is speculated that the smooth side is from natural weathering (new thoughts on an old rock) There are many theories on what kind of language this is and the implications this could bring to the history of this area of New England. | The Bourne Stone is a 300 pound, four feet by one and a half feet slab of pink granite that is shrouded in mystery. Currently, it is displayed in the Bourne Historical Center, located at 30 Keene St. In Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts. It has been displayed there since 2003. Its origins are debated, but most agree that it was originally used as a doorstep for a Native American meetinghouse. (Pre Columbian trans-oceanic contact Fritzinger pg 52). The slab itself has two sides, each being unique. One side contains an inscription of some sort of language and is smooth, and the other side is rough and natural. (figure 1) It is speculated that the smooth side is from natural weathering (new thoughts on an old rock) There are many theories on what kind of language this is and the implications this could bring to the history of this area of New England. | ||
'''History''' | '''History''' | ||
The Bourne Stone has made its way around the state of Massachusetts. The estimated date it began its journey is in the 1680’s (bourne stone timeline PDF given to me by the historical society itself) as the stepping stone into a Native American meetinghouse. According to the oral history collected by the Bourne Historical Society itself, the meetinghouse (or mission) was owned by a man by the name of Captain Tupper of Sandwich. Captain Tupper was a missionary in the 1600’s and was very influential in the area where the Bourne Stone originated. He and his father owned a lot of land in the area, and they established this meeting house to try and spread religions to the Native Americans living in this area. The meetinghouse was built close to a pond called Herring pond, and by a burial ground as well. (find a grave). It was here until 1900 when a Native American woman named Katherine Parker she moved it to her property, since the mission was no longer in use. (plymoutharch website).The property then passed on to a white family, and then finally to Percival Lombard. Percival was the one who really started to explore the property and the Native American relics held within it. (cape cod museum trail website). Lombard is the one who was important in founding the museum that exists in Massachusetts today. Many relics from his property rest here. | The Bourne Stone has made its way around the state of Massachusetts. The estimated date it began its journey is in the 1680’s (bourne stone timeline PDF given to me by the historical society itself) as the stepping stone into a Native American meetinghouse. According to the oral history collected by the Bourne Historical Society itself, the meetinghouse (or mission) was owned by a man by the name of Captain Tupper of Sandwich. Captain Tupper was a missionary in the 1600’s and was very influential in the area where the Bourne Stone originated. He and his father owned a lot of land in the area, and they established this meeting house to try and spread religions to the Native Americans living in this area. The meetinghouse was built close to a pond called Herring pond, and by a burial ground as well. (find a grave). It was here until 1900 when a Native American woman named Katherine Parker she moved it to her property, since the mission was no longer in use. (plymoutharch website).The property then passed on to a white family, and then finally to Percival Lombard. Percival was the one who really started to explore the property and the Native American relics held within it. (cape cod museum trail website). Lombard is the one who was important in founding the museum that exists in Massachusetts today. Many relics from his property rest here. |
Revision as of 15:11, 5 December 2019
The Bourne Stone is a 300 pound, four feet by one and a half feet slab of pink granite that is shrouded in mystery. Currently, it is displayed in the Bourne Historical Center, located at 30 Keene St. In Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts. It has been displayed there since 2003. Its origins are debated, but most agree that it was originally used as a doorstep for a Native American meetinghouse. (Pre Columbian trans-oceanic contact Fritzinger pg 52). The slab itself has two sides, each being unique. One side contains an inscription of some sort of language and is smooth, and the other side is rough and natural. (figure 1) It is speculated that the smooth side is from natural weathering (new thoughts on an old rock) There are many theories on what kind of language this is and the implications this could bring to the history of this area of New England.
History The Bourne Stone has made its way around the state of Massachusetts. The estimated date it began its journey is in the 1680’s (bourne stone timeline PDF given to me by the historical society itself) as the stepping stone into a Native American meetinghouse. According to the oral history collected by the Bourne Historical Society itself, the meetinghouse (or mission) was owned by a man by the name of Captain Tupper of Sandwich. Captain Tupper was a missionary in the 1600’s and was very influential in the area where the Bourne Stone originated. He and his father owned a lot of land in the area, and they established this meeting house to try and spread religions to the Native Americans living in this area. The meetinghouse was built close to a pond called Herring pond, and by a burial ground as well. (find a grave). It was here until 1900 when a Native American woman named Katherine Parker she moved it to her property, since the mission was no longer in use. (plymoutharch website).The property then passed on to a white family, and then finally to Percival Lombard. Percival was the one who really started to explore the property and the Native American relics held within it. (cape cod museum trail website). Lombard is the one who was important in founding the museum that exists in Massachusetts today. Many relics from his property rest here.